Welcome, Visitor!
Today is Thursday, July 7, 2022

Move away from circuit clerk for driver's license almost complete

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles

FRANKFORT, Ky. (KT) - Another new Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Driver Licensing Regional Office has opened to serve southeastern Kentucky, it was announced on Wednesday, as the move away from circuit court clerks' offices is nearly complete.

The newest office is at Carnaby Square Shopping Center, 845 South Main St., in London. Its business hours are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Eastern Time. This is the 28th such facility to open statewide, with at least three more offices planned, according to the Cabinet.

"We continue to expand access to Driver Licensing Regional Offices as one of three ways Kentuckians can now renew a driver's licenses or state identification card," said Gov. Andy Beshear. "Kentuckians have more choices, like opting for a REAL ID version that's accepted for air travel and military base access, renewing online or by mail, or choosing a card good for eight years instead of four."

In one of many service changes since the program began, Kentucky residents - regardless of where they live - may visit any regional office in the state, to request, replace or renew a driving credential.

More than 167,000 Kentuckians have skipped a trip to a regional office entirely by renewing online or through the mail - options never available before. More information on the services offered through each renewal method is available here.

First-time REAL ID applicants must visit a KYTC regional office in person, with proof of identity, residence and social security. For a personalized list of required documents to bring when applying, visit realidky.com.

In addition to London, other regional offices are now operating in Bowling Green, Burlington, Catlettsburg, Columbia, Covington, Danville (appointment only), Elizabethtown, Frankfort, Henderson, Hopkinsville, Independence, Jackson, Lexington, Louisville/Bowman Field (appointment only), Louisville/Dixie Highway (appointment only), Louisville/Hurstbourne, Louisville/Nia Center, Madisonville, Manchester, Mayfield, Maysville, Morehead, Owensboro, Paducah, Prestonsburg, Richmond and Somerset.

For years, circuit court clerks provided driver's licenses and state identification card services in their own county, but a majority of clerks asked the Transportation Cabinet to take over issuing REAL IDs. Legislation was passed in 2020 that transitioned REAL ID services, as well as all other driver license and state ID services, to KYTC. That transition is expected to be completed by June 27.

Read more from:
Top Stories
Comment   Email   Print